Gent, Belgium: All to Ourselves

Leaving Brugge on the way back to Brussels, my friend and I stopped at Gent, which is a 30 minute train ride from Brugge.  We got there after 5 p.m. and everything was closed—museums, castles, churches— so it gave us the rare opportunity to enjoy much of the medieval architecture and soak up every detail of the churches, the lone castle, and all else Gent had to offer.

We got to the front gates of the castle and took a few pictures. It was the first “true” castle I had seen in Belgium and Europe. The structure was quite huge, but while disappointed because it was closed, I knew I would have many more opportunities to see others. The churches were astonishing: the architectural detail and commanding heights, yet there was continued construction being done. Most of these churches are dated and appear to need restoration services to ensure that they are preserved for future generations.

While I cannot tell you what areas to visit as I was not able to enter any museums or churches, I would suggest visiting Gent to at least enjoy a different feeling from Brugge and Brussels.  For the little time we spent there, it was well worth it.

About refinedcolloquy

29 y/o male working in the rehab world of physical & occupational therapy. I started the blog to share my thoughts, and call things for what they are. I am a fair-minded person, and moderate in most of my views. While political topics will be the bulk of my postings(sure to offend conservatives & liberals), I will venture into more personal postings such as travel, and occasionally, sports & music. Refined Colloquy? Well, simple. I wanted something that had a simple sophistication to it. Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

